Farmland Preservation Board awards $6M

Farmland Preservation Board awards $6M

Sarah Hoffman, left, executive director of Ohio’s Farmland Preservation; Ohio Farmland Preservation Board member Lucille Hastings; and Ohio director of agriculture Dorothy Pelanda talk after more than $6 million was awarded to 46 Ohio farms on Nov. 7 in Reynoldsburg.


The Ohio Farmland Preservation Board met Nov. 7 at the Ohio Department of Agriculture in Reynoldsburg and awarded $6,246,077 to 46 Ohio farms.

Lucille Hastings, a Holmes County resident, represents Ohio farmers on the Farmland Preservation Board, which administers the funds voted by Ohio voters in 2008 as part of the renewal of the Clean Ohio Conservation Fund. These funds purchase agricultural easements to ensure Ohio farms remain permanently in agriculture production.

“Gov. Mike DeWine is very supportive of this Farmland Preservation program,” Ohio director of agriculture Dorothy Pelanda said. “He knows we must save farmland to encourage Ohio’s largest industry.”

Farmers, communities or organizations wanting more information about the Clean Ohio Fund may email the Ohio Department of Agriculture at or call 614-728-6210.

The Ohio Department of Agriculture has been serving farmers and protecting consumers since 1846.

Loading next article...

End of content

No more pages to load