Seniors celebrated at Arts Signing Day

Seniors celebrated at Arts Signing Day

Kylie Eckstein, left, Olivia Swigert, Alexandra Thompson, Hannah Levengood, Aine Donley and Lazarus Scheetz Smith.


Tuscarawas Arts Partnership and educators and families celebrated Tuscarawas County’s high school seniors at the fifth annual Arts Signing Day on Tuesday, April 26 at the Performing Arts Center at Kent State Tuscarawas.

The Arts Signing Day is an evening of celebration and recognition of Tuscarawas County high school seniors who are pursuing their education and careers in the arts, cultural and creative-based fields. Since 2018 the annual Arts Signing Day has recognized 57 high school seniors in Tuscarawas for their creative endeavors and future education.

For the Class of 2022, the following seniors were acknowledged:

Buckeye Career Center

—Emily Rose, art and animation, Kent State Tuscarawas.

—Olivia Swigert, graphic design and printmaking, Bowling Green University or University of Akron.

Dover High School

—Kylie Eckstein, fine arts - drawing, Cleveland Institute of Art.

—Alexandra Thompson, fashion merchandising, Kent State University.

Indian Valley High School

—Rachel Gardner, broadcast journalism and creative media, Marshall University.

New Philadelphia High School

—Aine Donley, fashion merchandising, Kent State University.

—Hannah Levengood, studio art, Kent State University.

Tuscarawas Valley High School

—Lazarus Scheetz Smith, music education, University of Akron.

In addition to celebrating the Class of 2022’s Arts Signing Day students, an award was presented for the 2022 Arts Educator of the Year in Tuscarawas County. Nominees were selected by their peers, colleagues and students to nominate an outstanding arts educator in Tuscarawas County who has gone above and beyond to provide their students and school districts with quality arts education.

Nominees included Aubrey Gealsha with Buckeye Career Center; Samantha Hanekrat, Chris Redd, David Rutter and Keri Stratton with Dover City Schools; and Diane Richardson with Tuscarawas Valley Local Schools. The recipient of the 2022 Arts Educator of the Year is Julie Kandel with New Philadelphia City Schools.

Loading next article...

End of content

No more pages to load