Fairless performing arts center gets a new name

Fairless performing arts center gets a new name
Barb Limbacher

Cindy Class, middle school principal, and several eighth-grade students who attended the Washington, D.C. trip gave an overview of what they visited.


The new Fairless High School performing arts center will be named the Lucinda Frailly Performing Arts Center. The decision was made during the Nov. 21 board of education meeting held at the high school. Frailly is a graduate of the former Navarre High School and was a faculty member for 39 years. She taught English, founded the Falcon Dance Line and developed the integrated arts program. She was recognized as a 2014 Distinguished Fairless Falcon.

The ribbon-cutting ceremony at the performing arts center to honor Frailly was held Dec. 1 at 4:30 p.m.

Gergory Colaner and Roxie Rush, Fairless alumni, submitted the official proposal to name the arts center after Frailly.

Fairless Superintendent Michael Hearn spoke about a work session held prior to the regular board meeting. He said the board is trying to improve the accessibility and to renovate Brideweser Stadium. He said they are studying the addition of ADA ramps and an asphalt path to get to the stadium restrooms safely. Those attending events will be able to park in the lower parking lot so senior citizens can walk on a flat surface.

Cindy Class, middle school principal, and several eighth-grade students who attended the Washington, D.C. trip gave an overview of what they visited. They toured all the monuments, Arlington Cemetery, the Smithsonian and Gettysburg on the way back to Ohio.

The board also did the following:

—Accepted the resignations of Deanna Walters, custodian, effective Oct. 18; Melinda Ross, bus driver, effective Oct. 30; Issac Weller, assistant mechanic, effective Nov. 11; Tiffany Poulson and Renee Beazel, parapro aides, both effective Nov. 21; and George Wiles, custodian, effective Jan. 1, for retirement.

—Approved the five-year forecast for submission to the Ohio Department of Education, prior to Nov. 30.

—Approved Luke Gill as a one-year temporary certified substitute teacher, as needed for the 2023-24 school year.

—Gave approval to one-year probationary classified contracts for Michael Carpenter, five-hour custodian, effective Nov. 13, and Christopher Kreiling, eight-hour custodian, effective Nov. 20.

—Passed a resolution authorizing the Stark County Schools Council of Governments to issue a request for proposal of the purchase of competitive retail natural gas service from the lowest and best bidder submitted to the consortium and to authorize the purchase of natural gas service for the district from the lowest and best bidder.

—Acknowledged Sarah Mathie has fulfilled requirements for graduation through the 22 Plus Program and approved Kayla Stark for early graduation, effective Oct. 27.

—Approved 21 revised or new board policies.

—Approved the following indoor track and volunteer coaches for the 2023-24 school year: Ben Russell, Conner Durant, Jessica Swihart, Mike Fowler, Shawn Robinson, Jory Oakleaf and Krista Doane.

—Granted one-year supplemental contracts to Jennifer Best, elementary art show adviser; Danielle Perich, middle school art show adviser; Jennifer Holland, high school art show adviser; Madison Strong, elementary annual adviser; Kristine Twigg, assistant spring drama; and Phillip Smith, assistant fall drama and spring drama.

—Issued a one-year supplemental contract to nonteacher Timothy Wade, freshman girls basketball.

Other information

The board recognized cross country state qualifiers Andrew Hearn and Ahna Doane and coach Ben Russell and middle school state champion Brice Fuller.

The next board meeting will be held Dec. 12 at 6:15 p.m. in the high school. The meeting was changed from Dec. 19. Board meetings are held at 800 Seventh St. in Brewster.

Loading next article...

End of content

No more pages to load