Smithville High inducts 17 into National Honor Society

Smithville High inducts 17 into National Honor Society
Marcia Trent, Green Local Schools

Smithville High School’s National Honor Society recently inducted 17 new members. Pictured here are NHS secretary Morgan Johnson, left, and treasurer Morgan Danko with new inductees Shawn Koval II and Adrian Dotterer.


The Smithville High School chapter of the National Honor Society recently inducted 17 new members for the 2020-21 school year.

The ceremony began with a welcome by NHS President Hannah Baker. Rebekah Carr shared a scripture, followed by an explanation of the society by Morgan Johnson. Co-adviser Lisa Howie introduced the current members, telling of their accomplishments and plans for after graduation.

The address was delivered by Pastor Art Carr, the senior pastor at Smithville Brethren Church. He spoke about being open to possibilities and opportunities. Members then lit candles and described the four criteria of the NHS. Dora Smith lit the candle of scholarship, Kirstyn Thut spoke about service, Caleb Keib represented leadership and Jillian Newlan lit the candle of character.

Co-adviser Joni Reichenbach then inducted the new members, describing the various service and leadership activities in which each student is involved. The new members for this fall were Carissa Butler, Chloe Cannon, Morgan DeRodes, Adrian Dotterer, Carter Fath, Brooke Fatzinger, Sara Heeter, Raigan King, Shawn Koval II, Luke Meech, Lillian Morgret, Marissa Numer, Joshua Porr, Sydney Shane, Kaci Snyder, Hailey Thorn and Ava Wilford.

DJ Kuehn then led the inductees in the National Honor Society pledge, and Lexi Muntin described the duties and responsibilities of NHS membership. The program ended with Dora Smith, vice president, delivering the closing. Everyone was then given desserts provided by Miss Amy’s Bakery to take home with them.

Loading next article...

End of content

No more pages to load