Smithville High inducts 19 into NHS

Smithville High inducts 19 into NHS
Marcia Trent, Green Local Schools

The National Honor Society at Smithville High recently inducted 19 new members in a ceremony. Among those attending were SHS NHS Vice President Brooke Fatzinger, left, new inductee Sadie Steiner, new inductee Cooper Torrence and NHS President Luke Meech.


The Smithville High School chapter of the National Honor Society inducted 19 new members for this school year on Nov. 8.

The ceremony began with a welcome by NHS President Luke Meech. Carter Fath shared a scripture, followed by an explanation of the society by Raigan King. Co-adviser Lisa Howie introduced the current members, telling of their accomplishments and future plans. Pastor Kevin Fath, the lead pastor at Hillside Baptist Church, delivered the address. He spoke about pursuing honor.

Members then lit candles and described the four criteria of the NHS as Sara Heeter lit the candle of scholarship, treasurer Hailey Thorn spoke about service, Lillian Morgret represented leadership and Sydney Shane lit the candle of character.

Co-adviser Joni Reichenbach then inducted the new members, describing the various service and leadership activities in which each student is involved. The new members for this fall were Andrew Clabaugh, Amanda Fleming, Samantha Funk, Alayna Green, Olivia Haines, Brayden Leach, Ashley Luginbuhl, Cole Maibach, Thaddeus Martin, Jared Reed, Ben Rhoads, Caitlin Skaggs, Brooke Smith, Sadie Steiner, Cooper Torrence, Rami Tuel, Laura Weinman, McKenzie Wohlford and Noah Yates.

Shawn Koval II then led the inductees in the National Honor Society pledge, and Joshua Porr described the duties and responsibilities of NHS membership. The program ended with Brooke Fatzinger, vice president, delivering the closing and Morgan DeRodes helping her distribute membership cards. Everyone was then invited to a dessert buffet.

Loading next article...

End of content

No more pages to load