Smithville High inducts 22 into NHS

Smithville High inducts 22 into NHS
Marcia Trent

Smithville National Honor Society members Emma Oberlin, left, and Kyle Rosenbaum, right, stand with Caleb Keib and Alexis Muntin after the two joined the 22 new NHS inductees.


The Smithville High School chapter of National Honor Society recently inducted 22 new members for the 2019-20 school year.

The ceremony began with a welcome by NHS President Sarah Meech. Hannah Yates shared a scripture, followed by an explanation of the society by Joseph Haas. Assistant principal Jennifer Shutt introduced the current members by telling of their plans for after graduation. The address was delivered by Pastor Joel Yates, the executive pastor at Wooster Church of the Nazarene. His speech was titled “What’s Your Foundation?”

Members then lit candles and described the four criteria of NHS. Ashleigh Clabaugh lit the candle of scholarship, Elizabeth Hartzler spoke about service, Emma Heeke represented leadership and Jordan Bierlein lit the candle of character.

Co-adviser Joni Reichenbach then introduced the new members, describing the various service and leadership activities in which each student is involved. The new members for this fall were Hannah Baker, Rebekah Carr, Kathryn Christman, Colin Daniels, Morgan Danko, Colby Hartzler, Elizabeth Heeke, Josephine Heeke, Hailey Johns, Morgan Johnson, Caleb Keib, Duane Kuehn, Benjamin Melkey, Alexis Muntin, Taylor Necko, Jillian Newlan, Doralice Smith, Logan Smith, Morgan Stoller, Kirstyn Thut, Lyric Wenger and Kiley Young.

Luke Hostetler then led the inductees in the National Honor Society pledge, and Kyle Rosenbaum described the duties and responsibilities of membership. The program closed with Emma Oberlin, vice president, and Elliot Martin distributing membership cards. Everyone was then invited to a dessert buffet.

Loading next article...

End of content

No more pages to load