Smithville High NHS inducts new members

Smithville High NHS inducts new members
Marcia Trent, Green Local Schools

Caden Zimmerly, left, Cameron Carr, Naomi Keib and Caitlin Walsh-Knouff were among the 23 new inductees into Smithville High’s National Honor Society.


The Smithville High School chapter of the National Honor Society inducted 23 new members for this school year in November.

The ceremony began with a welcome by NHS President Naomi Keib. Angelina Yates shared a scripture, followed by an explanation of the society by Aubrey Evans. Co-adviser Lisa Howie introduced the current members, telling of their accomplishments and plans for the future.

Brooke Naumoff, SHS English teacher and Smithie grad, delivered the address. She spoke about pursuing humility through service. Senior members then lit candles and described the four criteria of the NHS — Vea Baney lit the candle of scholarship, Adeline Thorn spoke about service, Jack Danko represented leadership and Josh Smucker lit the candle of character.

Co-adviser Joni Reichenbach then inducted the new members, describing the various service and leadership activities in which each student is involved. The new members for this fall were Marina Albright, Peyton Bohley, Trei Durstine, Kayli Falter, Taryn Fath, Lucy Gallagher, Michael Gallagher, Mackenzie Hartzler, Mason Leach, Maddy Lengacher, Quinn Maibach, Aaron Meech, Sam Navratil, Jenna Necko, Ethan Numer, Madison Singer, Josi Snyder, Maren Thorn, Hailey Thut, Caitlin Walsh-Knouff, Alyson Wickens, Amelia Yochheim and Caden Zimmerly.

Tessa Daniels then led the inductees in the National Honor Society pledge, and Caitlyn Daniels described the duties and responsibilities of NHS membership. The program ended with Vice President Austin Smucker delivering the closing and Cadence Amstutz helping him distribute membership cards. Everyone was welcomed to a dessert buffet.

Loading next article...

End of content

No more pages to load