Smithville NHS chapter inducts 20 new members

Smithville NHS chapter inducts 20 new members
Marcia Trent, Green Local Schools

New inductees Cameryn Wickens and Cameron Carr, pictured at left, are welcomed into the Smithville High National Honor Society by NHS President Amanda Fleming and senior member Cole Maibach.


On Nov. 7 the Smithville High School chapter of the National Honor Society inducted 20 new members for this school year.

The ceremony began with a welcome by NHS President Amanda Fleming. Cooper Torrence shared a scripture, followed by an explanation of the society by Laura Weinman. Co-adviser Lisa Howie introduced the current members, telling of their accomplishments and future plans.

Pastor Todd Martin, the lead pastor at Smithville Mennonite Church, delivered the address. He spoke about pursuing humility through service. Members then lit candles and described the four criteria of the NHS. Thaddeus Martin lit the candle of scholarship, Caitlin Skaggs spoke about service, Cole Maibach represented leadership and treasurer Sadie Steiner lit the candle of character.

Co-adviser Joni Reichenbach then inducted the new members, describing the various service and leadership activities in which each student is involved. The new members for this fall were Cadence Amstutz, Vea Baney, Maddilyn Brillhart, Gabby Cannon, Cameron Carr, Natalie Cox, Caitlyn Daniels, Tessa Daniels, Jack Danko, Aubrey Evans, Abigail Hartzler, Naomi Keib, Jake Kromer, Olivia Miley, Carter Piatt, Austin Smucker, Joshua Smucker, Adeline Thorn, Cameryn Wickens and Angelina Yates.

McKenzie Wohlford then led the inductees in the National Honor Society pledge, and Brooke Smith described the duties and responsibilities of NHS membership. The program ended with Jared Reed delivering the closing and Cole Maibach helping him distribute membership cards. Everyone was welcomed to a dessert buffet.

Loading next article...

End of content

No more pages to load