WCSCC inducts 26 into National Honor Society

WCSCC inducts 26 into National Honor Society

Wayne County Schools Career Center National Honor Society members include agribusiness and production student Gavin Snyder of Norwayne, left, practical nursing student Haley Dull of Rittman, animal science student Brianna Shearer of Chippewa and animal science student Kaitlyn Thomas of Waynedale. They celebrated their membership after the induction ceremony.


The Wayne County Schools Career Center inducted 26 new members into the Marie Chenevey Chapter of the National Honor Society in a candlelight ceremony on Thursday night, bringing total membership to 46 members.

Principal Matt Brown welcomed the group of students and their families. National Honor Society started in 1921 and continues to be the premier club for students with outstanding high school achievement, he said.

“Being named a member of the National Honor Society takes a lot more than just making the honor roll. Tonight’s inductees have demonstrated excellence in the NHS foundations of scholarship, leadership, service and character.”

Advisor Jennifer Majka said to the parents, “Your unconditional love, guidance, support and encouragement throughout the years is a large reason why your sons and daughters are here tonight. As Honor Society members, you are the leaders of your class and represent the very best of our school. You are WCSCC Drug Free Club members, Student Leadership Council members, leaders in your trades and genuinely good people.

“You have a fire inside that drives you to give — to give your knowledge, to give your time, to give your energy to those who need help the most.”

Majka introduced the faculty council, which selected the new members: Jenny Baechle, Amber Long, Helena Ritchey, Amanda Seenes and Amy Tietz.

Influential teachers honored were Sarah Andrasik, Suzie Best, Warren Caskey, Alex DeWitt, Krista Garver, Jason Haley, Jessica Immel, Julie Keener, Amber Long, Jeff Mehling, Kelly Miller, Deb McDonald, Celia O’Hearn, Angela Ramsay, Bev Squirrell, Joann Tabellion and Dawn Tresch.

President Riley Mertz of Norton spoke on scholarship, Vice President Kaitlyn Thomas of Waynedale on service, secretary Leah Reimonenq of Smithville on leadership and treasurer Brianna Shearer of Chippewa on character.

Seniors received their cords to wear at graduation, and each inductee received a certificate and a rose.

Seniors inducted were Nicole Yutzy of Northwestern and Brooke Manley of Triway.

Juniors inducted were Kyli Justice of Dalton; Caleb Dunn, homeschooled; Mark Kaufman of Manchester; Carissa Brinker and Julia Ours of Northwestern; Ethan Gasser and Gavin Snyder of Norwayne; Hunter Kerestes of Orrville; Kelsey Corp, Haley Dull and Pyper Gibson of Rittman; Abbie Shoop and Alicia Tackett of Smithville; Ana Neuman, Zoey Radford, Leah Rusin and Kirsten Swain of Triway; Jaed Bernhart, Molly Britenbucher and Jayley Steen of Waynedale; and Liberty Hernley, Gia Schrader, Shila Thellman and Grace Yerian of Wooster.

Senior members inducted last year receiving their graduation cords were Tori Batdorff, Brianna Shearer and Juan Carlos Vicente-Lopez of Chippewa; Autumn Duncan, Jake Newcombe, Isaac Ott and Kayla Weaver of Northwestern; Riley Mertz of Norton; Kendra Harley and Allison Wiles of Norwayne; Steven Downey of Orrville; Madison Dudich and Makayla Yarman of Rittman; Leah Reimonenq of Smithville; Eric Miller of Triway; Brooke Brenner and Kaitlyn Thomas of Waynedale; and Katelynn Burnham, Brianna Coleman and Kayla Ling of Wooster.

A reception with refreshments made by the career center’s hospitality program, instructed by Kathy Hanna, followed the ceremony.

Loading next article...

End of content

No more pages to load