OIU agents remind parents of Ohio’s alcohol laws

OIU agents remind parents of Ohio’s alcohol laws
File

In an effort to make this a safe graduation season, agents with the Ohio Investigative Unit remind parents and graduates to make the decision not to participate in illegal and dangerous behavior such as providing alcohol to those under 21 and consuming under age.

                        

Ohio school districts are celebrating the class of 2019. Proud family members will gather at graduation parties to celebrate the graduates. Those celebrations often include alcohol.

In an effort to make this a safe graduation season, agents with the Ohio Investigative Unit remind parents and graduates to make the decision not to participate in illegal and dangerous behavior such as providing alcohol to those under 21 and consuming under age.

OIU agents want parents and community members to do their part by understanding Ohio’s under-age drinking laws.

It is illegal to provide a place for your child and his/her friends to drink in a “safe” environment. In fact parents may not provide alcohol to children who are under 21 who are not their own, even in their own home with the other parents' permission. Those convicted of providing alcohol to a person under 21 years of age face maximum sentences of six months in jail and/or a $1,000 fine.

It is illegal to purchase alcohol for anyone under 21. Anyone who purchases, sells or gives alcoholic beverages to under-age individuals faces a $1,000 fine and/or up to six months in jail. If you are under 21 and are caught driving with a blood-alcohol concentration of .02 percent or higher, a level that can be reached after just one or two drinks, you can be arrested. Punishment is suspension of your driver's license for at least 90 days up to a maximum of two years, plus four points added to your driving record. Having an open container of alcohol in a motor vehicle also is illegal.

Also, carryouts and drive-through establishments should be on alert for under-age individuals attempting to purchase alcohol. Agents also recommend limo companies review policies with their drivers and ensure they know they also may be charged with permitting under-age consumption.

If you have information about a bar, store or carryout selling beer and/or liquor to persons under the age of 21 or you have information of an under-age house party, notify the Ohio Investigative Unit by calling 677 on your cell phone and your complaint will be investigated.


Loading next article...

End of content

No more pages to load