'Stark County Artists Exhibition' awards announced

'Stark County Artists Exhibition' awards announced

Back row, Judi Crew, left, honorable mention; Alex Strader, third place; Steve Ehret, second place; and Heather Bullach, exhibition coordinator; front row, Priscilla Sally Lytle, honorable mention; Sharon Frank Mazgaj, honorable mention; Tom Wachunas, honorable mention; and Coty Gianelli, honorable mention.


The Massillon Museum celebrated the opening of its annual "Stark County Artists Exhibition" with a reception for the artists. Awards were announced.

Best in Show ($300) went to Oxana Dallas for"Born From Stardust," textile.

Second place ($200) went to Steve Ehret for "Grey Matters," oil on panel.

Third place ($100) went to Alex Strader,"Fishbeck,"drawing.

Honorable mentions were Coty J. Giannelli,"Sick,"digital photograph; Judi Krew, "School Shootings School Bus Cape,"chalkboards, music stand, cotton fabric, paint, assorted textiles; Priscilla Sally Lytle,"1946 Girl Gang," graphite, acrylic, collage; Sharon Frank Mazgaj,"Mason Jar & Tomatoes," oils; and Tom Wachunas,"Deus Ex Machina, No. 3,"mixed — computer tower, latex, graphite.

Artists whose artwork was accepted in the show include Seth Adam, John B. Alexander, Diane Belfiglio, Todd Bergert, William M. Bogdan, Peter Castillo, Catherine M Cindia, Therese Cook, Oxana Dallas, David L. Dingwell, Laura Donnelly, Steve Ehret, Megan Farrabee, Kathleen Gray Farthing, Gerald Fox, Sharon Frank Mazgaj, Robert Gallik, Coty J. Giannelli, Jared Hartmann, Charity Hockenberry, Judith Girscht Huber, Judi Krew, David Kuntzman, Sam Lilenfield, Timothy Londeree, Priscilla Sally Lytle, Nicole Malcolm, Robyn Martins, Tom Migge, Michelle Mulligan, Clare Murray Adams, Benjamin R. Myers, Tina Myers, Robert Nicoll, Patricia Zinsmeister Parker, Mark V. Pitocco, Anna Rather, Jacob Redmon, Erika Katherine, Israel Robinson, Priscilla Roggenkamp, Hilda Sikora, Sari Sponhour, Rosemary Stephen, Alex Strader, Tom Wachunas and Pat Mather Waltz.

This year’s jurors were Ken Emerick, former artist programs and percent for art director, Ohio Arts Council, Columbus; Sarah J. Rogers, director, Kent State University Museum, Kent; and Stephen Tornasko, photographer, Akron. They selected artwork to be included in the exhibition as well as the prizes. The People’s Choice Award ($100), tallied from votes by visitors to the exhibition throughout its duration, will be announced in January.

The "Stark County Artists Exhibition," which will continue through Jan. 26, may be seen during regular museum hours Tuesday through Saturday from 9:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Sunday from 2-5 p.m. The museum will be closed on Thanksgiving and Christmas. Exhibit labels and price list are printed in braille, courtesy of Clovernook Center for the Blind and Visually Impaired.

In addition to viewing the "Stark County Artists Exhibition," visitors can now see "Nature Configurations: The Drawings of Sandra Benny" in Studio M through Dec. 1, "125 Years of the Greatest High School Rivalry" and "Evolution of the Football Jersey" in the Paul Brown Museum, and "The Immel Circus."

The Massillon Museum receives operating support from the Ohio Arts Council and ArtsinStark.

The Massillon Museum is located at 121 Lincoln Way E. in downtown Massillon. A visit to the Massillon Museum is always free. Call the Massillon Museum at 330-833-4061 or visit www.massillonmuseum.org for more information.

Loading next article...

End of content

No more pages to load