EH BOE elects president, VP

EH BOE elects president, VP

East Holmes Local Schools Board of Education met for a regular meeting on Friday, Jan. 12 at the East Holmes Central Office.

The board did the following during the meeting:

—Recognized the following Hiland WKLM Students of the Week: Damarion Tarrance, Jan. 8-12; Ethan Wise, Jan. 15-19; and Jake Troyer, Jan. 22-26.

—Approved the adoption of the tax budget for July 1, 2024, to June 30, 2025, as presented by the treasurer.

—Approved the current Ohio minimum wage rate, as a result of Ohio’s minimum wage law, for all impacted positions effective Jan. 1, 2024, and to apply future updates to Ohio’s minimum wage amount to all impacted positions on Jan. 1 of each subsequent school year.

—Accepted the following donations: $5,000 from Keim to Hiland Leadership Club for the Ukraine supply drive and $5,500 from Gloria Yoder to Mt. Hope Elementary for a pavilion with $500 going to books.

—Approved a resolution to provide payment in lieu of transportation for two East Holmes students attending Central Christian School for the remainder of the 2023-24 school year, pending parental approval as provided by law.

—Approved the Hiland ASL class field trip to Washington, D.C. on March 3-5.

—Approved an increase in hours for Sarah Holcomb, aide at Berlin, from 5.75 to seven hours per day, effective Jan. 8.

—Approved a one-year limited contract for the 2023-24 school year for the following classified personnel, pending completion of all requirements, retroactive to Jan. 8: April Rose, aide at Berlin, and Lelia Russell, secretary at Hiland.

—Approved the following placement on the certified salary schedule, effective Feb. 1: Julie Baer to MA+20.

—Approved all substitute personnel hired by East Holmes Local Schools and the Tri-County Educational Service Center for the 2023-24 school year.

—Approved the following supplemental positions for the 2023-24 school year:

Scott Bodiker, Michelle Mishler, Reis Bonifant, Erin Bille and Seger Bonifant, all Hiland eighth-grade Washington, D.C. trip chaperones; Chris Dages, varsity baseball head coach; Richard Mast, varsity baseball assistant coach; Kevin Schrock, JV and freshman baseball head coach; Kendall Schlabach, volunteer baseball assistant coach; Bradley Schlabach, volunteer baseball assistant coach; Tyler Gray, volunteer baseball assistant coach; Jordan Yoder, volunteer baseball assistant coach; Casey Lowe, volunteer baseball assistant coach; Kari Sparling, varsity softball head coach; Maria Letner, varsity softball assistant coach; Dennis Koshmider, volunteer softball assistant coach; Jana Immel, volunteer softball assistant coach; Bert Jones, varsity tennis head coach; Benjamin Miller, Chestnut Ridge eighth-grade Washington, D.C. trip chaperone; Leora Troyer, Mt. Hope eighth-grade Washington, D.C. trip chaperone; and James Luneborg, Chestnut Ridge and Mt. Hope Washington, D.C. trip chaperone.

Other information

During the organizational meeting, which took place before the regular board meeting, Steve Miller was elected president and Julia Klink was elected vice president of the East Holmes Board of Education. Also, new board members Bryan Coblentz and Bryce Troyer were administered an oath/affirmation of office.

The next board meeting is scheduled for Feb. 16 at the Central Office.

Loading next article...

End of content

No more pages to load